Lifestyle vs Career

23 Aug

Hibiscus in Hawaii

Where you live! My husband and I personify this debate. I come from Australia and have always been ruled by lifestyle. My husband comes from the US where people often move thousands of miles primarily for job opportunities.

I met Ben in Hawaii when I went on a surfing trip. We fell in love and I thought it would all be good, who couldn’t handle living the aloha lifestyle? When we actually got married however, we decided to start out in Ohio, his home town. Being so in love, I was up for the adventure. Adventure soon turned to culture shock however as I settled in to the mid-west.

Did I mention that I grew up as a competitive surfer? Despite a couple of valiant attempts, Lake Erie just didn’t cut it. After a couple of months we resorted to driving through the night on Friday so we could be at the beach in North Carolina on Saturday morning. Anything to feel the sand between my toes and salt water spray on my face. After 18 months, including an eleven month winter :), we finally made our way back Down Under. The wilted, SAD-affected beach-babe flourished once more.

Fast forward five years, we love our life on the Gold Coast. Everything is perfect but one thing…my husband still doesn’t have a good job. Ironically, we are faced with the same question…lifestyle vs career. The debate rages on.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

Love Bites Lifestyle

full of all things sweet, pretty and oh so lovely

Quitting the Quick Fix

uplevel your lifestyle

Quitting the Quick Fix

uplevel your lifestyle

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Organized Home

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

communi-Kate

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Andrea Grigg

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Saved By Love Creations

Crafty DIY Tutorials for Polymer Clay, Home Decor, Gifts and More

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

dwayne2ndname

A great WordPress.com site

Jones Design Company

create . decorate . celebrate

O and H

an attempt to minimise distance

Sally Salmon

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

This is my life... and I'm sticking to it.

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Troyer Family Farm

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Crazy about CrossFit!

A complete and utter addiction!

Chronicles of a Babywise Mom

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Ultra Hip Mama

Musings from a world-weary yet hip first time mom

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Run DMT

I'm a mom on the run!

