Day 4: What’s my motivation?

29 May

As I was filling out my entry form for the impending race yesterday, I came across a question that was a bit more abstract than the rest: “What is your reason for competing in this race?” While I responded quickly off the top of my head, I have been thinking about that question ever since. What is my reason/motivation/goal/purpose for competing in this race? Is it just to prove that I can be disciplined?

ImageLosing myself along the back streets of Blogland today, I stumbled across a link to lifehack.org, and more specifically, to an article about motivation by Royale Scuderi. He gave a working definition of motivation as:

the force that compels us to action. It drives us to work hard and pushes us to succeed. Motivation influences our behaviour and our ability to accomplish goals.”

Here is a summary of the six types of motivation that Scuderi outlined (and my responses in italics):

Image

1. Incentive: (Extrinsic motivator) how will I be rewarded for achieving a certain target or goal? Hopefully lose some of that bonus baby weight and seeing that chocolate after the race doesn’t really fit this whole discipline philosophy, maybe I’ll add some new shoes or training top as a wager.

2. Fear: (Extrinsic motivator) What consequences await me if I don’t do this? The can’t voice wins again.

3. Achievement: (Intrinsic motivator) How will I become competent by completing this? I’ll prove to myself that I can be disciplined and run that distance. (External motivator) What positive feedback will this lead to? “Wow, your still breastfeeding and your baby is only 5 months old, good for you!” 🙂

4.  Growth: (Intrinsic motivator) how will this propel me to change/grow/improve? I will be more confident in my ability to stick to my plans and not give up which in turn will motivated me to find my next goal and keep disciplined.

5. Power: (Extrinsic motivator) How will this lead to more control over myself or others? I guess it will justify the need for self-control but the connotations for power are a bit full-on and confronting in my mind.

6. Social: How will this help me to connect with others? An in with the stroller group for sure and cement some of my new acquaintances into real friendships through shared experiences.

So I guess none of this is rocket science but it helps clarify in my mind how I work and why I want to do this. I know you’re just dying to find out what my off-the-cuff response was in my entry form, aren’t you.

“I want to do something to help me find my identity outside my new all-consuming role as a stay-at-home mum”

Mmm, I could look really deeply into that as well but I’ll choose to believe that a little bit of each of the answers above are appropriate and relevant, depending on the day and mood. The point is that I’m motivated to stay disciplined and do this race and this proves that I have many reasons to make it happen.

2 Responses to “Day 4: What’s my motivation?”

  1. Camilla's Rubbish Blog May 30, 2012 at 3:15 am #

    Very soon this web site will be famous among all blogging and site-building visitors, due to it’s pleasant content

    • communiKate June 4, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks for the encouragement. It is all such a learning process isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

Love Bites Lifestyle

full of all things sweet, pretty and oh so lovely

Quitting the Quick Fix

uplevel your lifestyle

Quitting the Quick Fix

uplevel your lifestyle

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Organized Home

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

communi-Kate

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Andrea Grigg

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Saved By Love Creations

Crafty DIY Tutorials for Polymer Clay, Home Decor, Gifts and More

Honest Toddler

juice, crackers. tv.

dwayne2ndname

A great WordPress.com site

Jones Design Company

create . decorate . celebrate

O and H

an attempt to minimise distance

Sally Salmon

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

This is my life... and I'm sticking to it.

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Troyer Family Farm

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Crazy about CrossFit!

A complete and utter addiction!

Chronicles of a Babywise Mom

Genuine, everyday life of faith.

Ultra Hip Mama

Musings from a world-weary yet hip first time mom

Will Run for Glitter

It's not sweat. It's sparkle.

Run DMT

I'm a mom on the run!

